State honours for local RFS brigade members


West Pittwater Rural Fire Brigade members, along with those serving in brigades across NSW, have been awarded a Bushfire Emergency Citation by the NSW Government on behalf of the community.

The citation recognises “the outstanding contribution of volunteers and service agency personnel who played a significant role in the emergency response effort to combat the 2019-2020 bushfires”.

Image: Northern Beaches Crews Blue Mountains

West Pittwater deployed 21 members, many served on multiple Strike Teams across NSW. Thanks and congratulations to them all: Michael Adler, Glenn Andrews, Maisie Atkins, Roy Atkins, Gerald Brennan, Melinda Broughton, Patrick Broughton, Andrew Cutler, Andrew Derijk, Sally Anne Gaunt, Tejinder Gill, Robert Howe, Gregory Hurst, David Lambert, Wayne Lazarides, Jonathan Matthews, Justin Mills, Graham Nicholson, Geoff Nimmo, Declan Springthorpe and Kylie Stackhouse.

In addition, Scotland Island Rural Fire Brigade also deployed many members, to whom profound thanks are also due.

More than 65,000 people will receive an official NSW Bushfire Emergency Citation, certificate of recognition, commemorative pin and a letter from the Premier acknowledging their contribution and thanking them for their service.

Commissioner of Resilience NSW, Shane Fitzsimmons, joins the Premier as a signatory on the certificates of recognition.

“The NSW Bushfire Emergency Citation symbolises mateship, teamwork, volunteering and helping when times are tough,” the Commissioner said.

“They are a meaningful commemoration of a bushfire season we won’t forget and a symbol of the state’s gratitude.”

The citation is accompanied by a personalised letter and certificate and a commemorative cap.


Upcoming Events